Source string Read only

143/1430
Context English State
These groups are automatically assigned to all customers.
If several customers or groups are added to the system, use the search box to find a particular customer or use the filter box to find a particular group by just typing the name to filter.
Multiple customers or groups can be assigned in both screens at the same time. Additionally clicking on a customer or clicking on a group in the relations will open the *Edit Customer* screen or the *Edit Group* screen accordingly.
Accessing a customer or a group provides no back link to the relations screen.
Customers ↔ Groups Relations Reference
When assigning a customer to a group or vice versa, several permissions can be set as connection between a customer and a group. The following permissions are available by default:
Same Customer
Gives customer users group based access to tickets from customer users of the same customer (ticket ``CustomerID`` is a ``CustomerID`` of the customer user).
Groups
Use this screen to add groups to the system. A fresh OTRS installation contains some default groups. The group management screen is available in the *Groups* module of the *Users, Groups & Roles* group.
Group Management Screen
Manage Groups
To add a group:
Click on the *Add Group* button in the left sidebar.
Add Group Screen
Groups can not be deleted from the system. They can only be deactivated by setting the *Validity* option to *invalid* or *invalid-temporarily*.
To edit a group:
Click on a group in the list of groups.
Edit Group Screen
If several groups are added to the system, use the filter box to find a particular group by just typing the name to filter.
Group Settings
Renaming a group does not affect permissions previously given. When *group1* is now called *group2*, then all the permissions are the same for the users which used to be assigned to *group1*. This result is because OTRS uses IDs for the relationship, and not the name.
Invalidating a group does not remove the permissions from the user, but only makes them invalid. If you reactivate this group, even with a new name, the permissions take effect.
Default Groups
Every agent's account should belong to at least one group or role. In a fresh installation, there are some pre-defined groups available:
``admin``
Allowed to perform administrative tasks in the system.
``stats``
Qualified to access the stats module of OTRS and generate statistics.
``users``
Agents should belong to this group, with read and write permissions. They can then access all functions of the ticket system.

Loading…

User avatar None

New source string

OTRS 7 / Administration ManualEnglish

New source string a year ago
Browse all component changes

Glossary

English English
No related strings found in the glossary.

Source information

Flags
read-only
Source string location
../../content/users-groups-roles/groups.rst:28
String age
a year ago
Source string age
a year ago
Translation file
locale/content.pot, string 2873